CDA/CDRAF Interface Committee Holds First Meeting

August 3, 2010

Members of the new CDA/CDRAF Interface Committee. (L. to r.): Dr. Alastair Nicoll, CDA Board of Directors; Ms. Heather MacKay, registrar, College of Dental Surgeons of British Columbia; Maître Caroline Daoust, executive director and secretary, Order of Dentists of Quebec; Dr. Peter Trainor, vice-president, Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario (RCDSO) and chair of the CDRAF delegation; Dr. Robert MacGregor, CDA Board of Directors and chair of the CDA delegation; Mr. Irwin Fefergrad, registrar, RCDSO; Dr. Betty Dunsmore, president, Manitoba Dental Association; Dr. Robert Sutherland, CDA Board of Directors; Mr. Don Pamenter, executive director, Nova Scotia Dental Association. (Committee members not shown in photo: Dr. Mitch Taillon, CDA Board of Directors; Dr. Eric Hatfield, chair, Provincial Dental Board of Nova Scotia.)

In July, representatives from CDA and the Canadian Dental Regulatory Authorities Federation (CDRAF) met at CDA headquarters in Ottawa, to attend the inaugural meeting of the CDA/CDRAF Interface Committee.

This committee was created to provide a forum for meaningful discussions on important issues facing the Canadian dental profession. These discussions will help to achieve a better understanding on issues of mutual concern, while also reinforcing a positive relationship between the two organizations.

At the first meeting, participants outlined the objectives and scope of the committee and agreed upon appropriate protocols and processes to advance ideas generated during these discussions.

“This initial meeting was quite positive as both groups identified common issues for future communication,” says Dr. Robert MacGregor, chair of the CDA delegation.

Among the issues on the Interface Committee’s initial meeting agenda were the consultative process between CDA and CDRAF for specialty recognition in Canada and the potential impact of the proposed Canada-European Union Free Trade Agreement.

Add new comment